On this page you will find links and resources for three of the IB subjects in Group 6 (Visual Arts, Theatre, Film). Scroll down to view each subject. For more information about the expectations for the subject, check the Subject Specific Guide.
Helpful websites and databases for IB Visual Arts Students:
IB Visual Arts Subject Specific Guide - Use tabs on the left under Visual Arts: Subject Specific Guide for more information.
Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America Free Public Online Database. Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library: A database of dealer and collector archives consolidating information about repositories, dealers, collectors, and dealer archives (including dealer photograph archives). This tool provides essential information for scholars working in the fast-growing field of the history of collecting.
Art UK is a charity working to transform access to the nation’s art collections. Their website is the showcase for art in every UK public collection and is an ambitious collaboration between over 3,250 British institutions.
Artcyclopedia is an index of online museums and image archives: find where the works of over 8000 different fine artists can be viewed online.
Artsy.net Artsy’s mission is to expand the art market to support more artists and art in the world. They are a platform for collecting and discovering art.
The British Museum The British Museum’s Collection Online offers everyone unparalleled access to objects in the collection. This innovative database is one of the earliest and most extensive online museum search platforms in the world.
CAMEO: Conservation & Art Materials Encyclopedia Online CAMEO is a searchable information resource developed by the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. The MATERIALS database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials.
Getty Research Portal The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users.
Google Art and Culture is a free online database which gives Internet browsers the opportunity to view art pieces from all over the world in a gallery-style collection.
The Guggenheim Museum Archive The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum Library contains published resources that reflect and inform museum collections and exhibitions, with particular focus on modern and contemporary art, architecture, and photography. Collections include global Guggenheim exhibition catalogues, rare books, the Hilla Rebay Library, as well as an actively growing collection of artist monographs, art criticism and theory, reference materials, and periodicals.
The International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR) is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts. IFAR offers impartial and authoritative information on authenticity, ownership, theft, and other artistic, legal, and ethical issues concerning art objects. IFAR serves as a bridge between the public, and the scholarly and commercial art communities.
Life Photo Archive Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art Located on the Pacific Rim, LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection of nearly 140,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe. Committed to showcasing a multitude of art histories, LACMA exhibits and interprets works of art from new and unexpected points of view that are informed by the region’s rich cultural heritage and diverse population. LACMA’s spirit of experimentation is reflected in its work with artists, technologists, and thought leaders as well as in its regional, national, and global partnerships to share collections and programs, create pioneering initiatives, and engage new audiences.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art When The Met was founded in 1870, it owned not a single work of art. Through the combined efforts of generations of curators, researchers, and collectors, their collection has grown to represent more than 5,000 years of art from across the globe—from the first cities of the ancient world to the works of our time.
The Montias Database of 17th Century Dutch Art Inventories Free Public Online Database Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library: The Frick Art Reference Library hosts a unique database of inventories of Dutch 16th and 17th century art collections compiled by late Yale University Professor John Michael Montias. Drawn largely from the Gemeentearchief in Amsterdam, these inventories contain a wealth of information that can elucidate patterns of buying, selling, inventorying and collecting art in Holland during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) Their evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art. More than 80,000 works are currently available online.
The Museum of New Zealand has recently made over 30,000 images available for download and re-use in high resolution as a part of its Collections Online library. It’s best to search this page after first checking the “with downloadable images” check box so that you only get results that are free for download. Each image specifies its license, many of which are remixable and have no copyright associated with them at all.
National Gallery of Art With the launch of NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images. They are available for download at the NGA Images website (images.nga.gov).
Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single gateway, users can access and cross-search Oxford’s acclaimed, regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
The Smart Museum of Art As the fine arts museum of the University of Chicago, the Smart is home to thought-provoking exhibitions and an exquisite collection of more than 15,000 objects, including modern masterpieces, millennia-old Chinese artworks, rich examples of European painting, and provocative works of contemporary art.
TATE's mission is to increase the public’s enjoyment and understanding of British art from the 16th century to the present day and of international modern and contemporary art
WikiArt.org Their primary goal is to make world’s art accessible to anyone and anywhere. WikiArt already features some 250.000 artworks by 3.000 artists, localized on 7 languages. These artworks are in museums, universities, town halls, and other civic buildings of more than 100 countries. Most of this art is not on public view. With your active involvement, they are planning to cover the entire art history of the Earth, from cave artworks to modern private collections. They also provide you with tools for translation on as many languages as needed.
Helpful Websites for IB Theatre Students:
IB Theatre Subject Specific Guide - Use tabs on the left under Theatre: Subject Specific Guide for more information.
This is the world's leading video library on performing arts, which offers an extensive streaming of full-length videos from the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and prestigious artists. It comprises a wide range of programmes in different genres including ballet performances, educational films and documentaries, Hannover International Violin Competitions, live concerts, music lectures and master classes, musical journeys, operas, theatres and introduction of different schools of masterpieces in painting. Some videos also provide programme notes and lyrics with screen subtitle options in German, English, French, Italian and Spanish.
This database provides an unparalleled resource for performing arts on the web, with indexes and abstracts of more than 270 international periodicals plus the full text of over 97 journals from 1864 onwards, covering a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry.
From Arts Alive in Canada, a comprehensive list of free resources and links to many theatre-related sites. ArtsAlive.ca English Theatre is designed to uncover the behind-the-scenes world of professional English Canadian Theatre. Within these web pages we invite parents, teachers and students to embark on a journey through thematically organized content that will lead to a greater understanding of and appreciation for the people and processes involved in transforming a play from the page to the stage.
Helpful websites and databases for Film EE Students:
IB Film Subject Specific Guide - Use tabs on the left under Film: Subject Specific Guide for more information.
Free Film Education Resources for Students Since 1985, Film Education has enriched the education of teachers and learners across the UK by providing schools with unique and innovative curriculum-relevant film-based learning experiences. Our charity provides award-winning, authentic and relevant resources, training and events at no or nominal cost to teachers and has contributed to raising standards and inspiring teachers and learners across a range of subject areas. We also run cutting-edge teacher training events and each year take nearly half a million school children to the cinema free of charge in screening programmes that include the world’s biggest screening programme for young people, National Schools Film Week.
Free resources that utilise the extraordinary medium of film, with activities to use in your classroom or club, including PowerPoint presentations with embedded clips.
Empire magazine may not seem like a go-to place for the finer points of movie theory, but its film studies 101 is a great section to find info on all aspects of filmmaking. Great movie moments are dissected in detail, technical complexity is explained, on-set jargon is made clear and behind-camera movie roles are discussed.
Sometimes it’s not necessarily what you know, but who you know and KFTV could be your inroad to a wide knowledge of all areas of the film industry. Within its confines you’ll be able to search for film, TV and commercial production service companies in 173 countries, so if you’re looking for potential employers or an equipment rental company for the latest project you’ll be able to find the contact details on KFTV.
The BFI’s education and research section is another wealth of knowledge when it comes to film studies. It’s got sections for learning and teaching, along with information about its funding schemes, tips for film academy graduates and entertaining and inspiring ways for young people to understand film. You can also find out more about the industry with its series of statistics and reports, which might come in handy if you need to factor in some data into your class notes or essays.
The UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive is the visual arts center of the University of California, Berkeley, the nation’s leading public research university. Our mission is to inspire the imagination and ignite critical dialogue through art and film, engaging audiences from the UC Berkeley campus, the Bay Area, and beyond. Each year BAMPFA presents more than twenty art exhibitions, 450 film programs, and dozens of performances, as well as lectures, symposia, and tours.
Empire Magazine
BFI Education and Research